Posted on

Black Heart

 

I am in a fight against myself

At war with the thoughts in my head

I wonder how much longer I can last

Before I finally end up dead

 

When the thoughts turn depressing

And the tone becomes despair

I try to change the direction

But sometimes I just don’t care

 

I sometimes find myself adrift

Trying to understand it all

Day after day of struggles

There must be a pending fall

 

As time passes on like it always will

My heart slowly turns to gray

And with even more passing of time

My heart may turn black one day

 

I guard my heart with an iron fist

My soul I have buried in steel

At the right times I smile and laugh

But inside I don’t really feel

 

Everyone thinks they know me

I’ve tried to set them straight

They don’t hear a word I say

Which only fuels the hate

 

One day it will not be like this

I will eventually find my own way

Or at least that is what I hope

As I begin another day

2 responses to “Black Heart

  1. The “Twisted Destiny” blog has a most beautiful appearance. Of the three rhyming thoughts that I read, “Black Heart” wins the 35-yard dash. Thanks for going public with your stuff.

    Drop by Rawclyde’s Code Room any time!

Leave a Reply

